Halfway There!

Today marks the halfway point of this pregnancy.

20 weeks–I can’t believe it!
20120701-221450.jpg

Getting to this point is exciting for all sorts of reasons, but the most exciting part was the second trimester anatomy scan ultrasound at 19 weeks. Neither of us had any inkling at all what was cooking in my belly: boy, girl, or in between (yes, we discussed the possibility of having an intersexed child…I was a women’s studies major after all). But, everyone around us was certain we were having a boy. And they were right!! Our little fellow was not shy at all about showing us his goods during the ultrasound. In fact, it’s the only thing he wanted to show us: “You want to look at my heart?!? Take a look at this instead!” Luckily, the ultrasound tech was able to get all the measurements she needed in spite of our tiny exhibitionist’s lack of cooperation, and we even managed to walk away with a few non-crotch shot photos.

Footprints
20120701-204445.jpg

Profile
20120701-204546.jpg

After the ultrasound we splurged on some baby boy outfits.

20120701-221549.jpg

Our little man has been doing all sorts of acrobatics recently. Around 17 weeks, I was almost positive that what I was feeling were little kicks and not just muscle spasms or gas bubbles. At 18 weeks (Father’s Day morning to be exact), I woke up feeling what were undeniably baby feet. I asked Erin to place her hand on my belly to see if she could feel it too, and she got a swift kick to the palm in response.

The progress I posted about last time was short lived. This past week featured the return of 8 o’clock bedtimes and daily waves of nausea. I’m going to blame it on adjusting to the unusually hot weather (heat index of over 100 on at least two days, which is probably no big deal for folks in other parts of the country, but this is Vermont!!), and am keeping my fingers crossed that this is just a small relapse.

The nursery is, for the most part, finished. All we have left to do are hang some pictures, and move a dresser over from Erin’s parents.

This is before we realized we had put the back legs on backwards and needed to disassemble the entire thing…
20120701-221640.jpg

We finally figured it out!
20120701-221737.jpg

20120701-221756.jpg

With most of the major baby projects done, I’m not sure how we’re going to make the time pass in the next 20 weeks. I guess now would be a good time for me to learn how to knit.

2 thoughts on “Halfway There!

Leave a Reply

