Threenager

This memory popped up on Facebook today:

Henry is officially three and a half, and a full-on “threenager.” Everyone told me three is worse than two, and they were right! Don’t get me wrong, this boy is still heartbreakingly sweet most of the time (his current mantra, which he repeats as fast as he can several times throughout the day is “I love you as high as the sky, as deep as the ocean, and as far as the moon. I love myself as high as the sky, as deep as the ocean, and as far as the moon. It’s important to love yourself.”). But, he is definitely testing our patience. “Henry, it makes me really frustrated when you don’t listen” is the new catch phrase around our house. I try my hardest to channel Daniel Tiger’s mom in these moments (when you feel so mad that you want to roar, take a deep breath and count to four).

It’s a good thing he’s so cute.


He is also a master negotiator and loophole finder. Henry loves to pet our chins, but sometimes you just hit your limit in the chin-petting department. So, we told him he needs to ask us if he can pet us. I was so excited about our first lesson in consent! Well, it was not quite the lesson I had hoped to impart. After I finished my spiel about how we respect each other’s bodies, Henry says, “I can pet Baby Jude whenever I want because he can’t say no.” Hmmph.

On the receiving end for a change. Pets from cousin Georgia.

But, three is also so awesome because our little boy is really becoming his own person. Last week we met with his teachers and they told us that while he is still an “observer” he is much more comfortable participating in activities and will even initiate interactions with his classmates. They also told us that he and another boy in his class proclaimed that they are each other’s best friend. And those two really are two peas in a pod. At pick-up they hold hands and race down the hall together. Seriously, so cute.

This kid.

5 thoughts on “Threenager

Leave a Reply

